Books 1-24

So here we go… my first 23 books of the year:

46f621e466f3e271fcfb75f59ab8d829

1.- 7. Harry Potter Series by J.K Rowling– My very religious mother did not allow me to read this series as a kid when I was its intended audience. I finally decided to rebel, as a 26 year old woman and I am so glad I did. I can’t believe I lived my life to this point without reading Harry Potter. I’m not going to go on and on,because it’s Harry Pa\otter, and we all know its amazing. These books had my up until 2a.m sobbing over a creature called Dobby and seriously considering the notion that my Hogwarts letter got lost in the mail when I was 12.

8. Serena by John Rash

9. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green-  The Feels(fangirls know what that means). Beautifully tragic, just the way I like ’em. I’m a big fan of YA and no one does it better than John Green. I cried buckets. Despite the depressing subject matter, it’s hopeful and has a sweet ending. One of my new all time favorites.

10. The Constant Princess by Phillipa Gregory- The author has become one of my favorites.  I have a slight obsession  with the English royal family and her books makes history come alive(what a corny line!).  I am slowly working my way through her novels. I recommend reading the Cousins War series before reading the  Tudor books.

11. The Other Boleyn Girl by Phillipa Gregory

12. The Boleyn Inheritance by Phillipa Gregory

13. Longbourne by Jo Baker- I read this book because of my love of Pride and Prejudice. It tells the story of the maid of Elizabeth Bennett. Pretty love story, happy ending…

14. The Spectacular Now by Tim Thorpe

15. Winter’s Tale by Mark Heprin

16. Gone Girl by Gilliam Flynn– First book I read of Flynn’s and it was great. Takes place in a little town in Missouri, the home town girl in me appreciated the setting. Plot twist doesn’t begin to explain what happens about half way through. And Ben Affleck is set to play the male lead in the movie adaption out this fall.

17. Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates

18. Endless Love by Scott Spencer

19. Looking for Alaska by John Green

20. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak–  Seriously, the best book on the list and has become one of my top ten favorite books. It’s an amazing story.  Not only do I love YA, but I also love historical fiction so this book was right up alley. The book’s narrator is Death and I was surprised by my sympathetic feelings toward the narrator.  Although, Supernatural’s version of Death gave me the same feelings, so maybe it’s just me?

21. The Shack by Wm.Paul Young- I tried to like this book, I really did. I wanted it to change my life and put things in focus. Unfortunately, that didn’t happen. I just couldn’t buy the idea of God being a big black woman who says “Sho ’nuff”. Because we know all black people talk like that. But to be fair, people love this book. It was recommended to me by several people, all of who have good taste in literature. This one just didn’t do it for me.

22. Something Borrowed by Emily Griffin

23. The Light Between the Oceans by M.L Steadman- Beautiful. Again, I cried which means it was a goodie. It tested my ideas of right and wrong. As a mother, I felt empathy for both the main characters.  It’s about a woman, alone on a island with lighthouse keeper husband. After multiple miscarriages she finds a baby on shipwreck and raises her as her own. I will be reading this one again.

24. Call the Midwife by Jennifer Worth

 

Leave a Reply

