# 26- The Host by Stephanie Meyer

www.pinterest.comMy good friend, and fellow book enthusiast recommended The Host to me. I have to admit I was more than a little hesitant. Stephanie Meyer is the same author of the Twilight series, of which I am not a fan.  Bella is wimpy and I don’t  like my men to sparkle. (To be fair, I’ve never read the books, I have only seen half of the first movie.)

Back to The Host….

Earth is invaded by an parasite alien species, who use humans as their hosts. When the alien is implanted into the human body, they inherit all the humans memories but eventually stamp out the human conscious and completely take over the  body.  When teenage Melanie is taken to be a host, she doesn’t give up without a fight. The Alien, Wanderer or Wanda, is torn between her duty to her species and the little voice in her head.  Eventually, Wanda gives in to Mel and Wanda finds herself  joining a human resistance group in the Arizona desert with Mel’s little brother and boyfriend. Danger, adventure, plot twists and  not just a love triangle, but a love SQUARE ensues.

I found myself really enjoying both Wanda and Melanie’s characters. You want to hate Wanda, she’s the bad guy, right? But I couldn’t hate her. I wanted her to have her happy ending just as much as I wanted human Mel to have hers. (Spoiler: they do!) I love sci-fy, so of course I was into the idea of an alien invasion, and a underground human resistance. But this book is truly about friendship, and family, and love. It made me think about what I would be willing to do and the sacrifices I would make for the ones I love. Could I sacrifice my own happiness for the greater good? I don’t know that I could. At the end of the day, the message I got from this great novel is that you can’t hold down the human spirit. We are a race to be reckoned with. No matter what happens to us, we stand up fighting. I feel my faith in humanity renewed already.

Stephanie Meyer has proven she can write a strong, kick-ass female lead…almost has convinced me that Twilight is worth my time. Sparkly dudes and all…

 

7b94f5e539acc68825f123520678f346

And fellow fan girls, Adam from Supernatural is in the movie adaption. You’re welcome.

2 thoughts on “# 26- The Host by Stephanie Meyer

  1. I read this book a couple of months ago. I’ve always been in love with the Twilight series but Meyer takes her creativity and genius to a whole new level with this book. There is suppose to be another installment coming out. Lets hope! Great review!

Leave a Reply

